Welcome to the Royal College of Science Association, the home of science alumni, students and faculty at Imperial College London, the world’s leading science, medicine and engineering innovation university for over 110 years.

Founded in 1908 under the presidency of HG Wells, we are the alumni group for the science departments at Imperial College, London.

Our members are made up of former staff and students of those departments that award or awarded the ARCS.

We organise events throughout the year to keep our members in touch with each other and we support outreach initiatives. We also have a charitable organisation, the RCSA Trust, which provides funds to support the activities of current RCS students at Imperial.

Click here to see our Constitution & Rules

Click here to see our Strategy to 2026

Affiliations & Links

The Royal College of Science Union (RCSU)
(click here for RCSU Newsletters)
Royal College of Science Motor Club
The ORCS Darts Club
The RCSA Double Elevens Darts Club
The ’22 Club
The XV Club
Imperial College
Imperial College Union
(click here for help setting up an ICU account)
Imperial College Alumni

(If you would like to suggest a group, club or association for listing here, please email the Committee.)

A Brief History

The Royal College of Science Association (RCSA) was set up in 1908 and is a Chapter under the Imperial College Association umbrella comprising the former students from the Departments of Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Physics (collectively termed the “Royal College of Science”) at the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, in London, UK.

The first President was the author H G Wells, whose books include The Time Machine and War of the Worlds.

The RCS Chant: The Kangela

A traditional song apparently sung back in the day – originating in 1950 and still going in the 1980s. (Apparently derived from a Zulu fertility chant – maybe you’ll get lucky…)

Exec member ONLY: Ladies and Gentlemen of the RCS, Are you in good voice?
Exec member: Then let’s have a KANGELA!
Kangela Armadola
Kangela Armadola
Kangela Armadola
Teia, Teia, Teia,
Pakamisso, Pakamisso,
Inkangala, Kubinala,
Watsi, R.C.S.

Past Presidents

Below is a list of all of the Presidents of the Royal College of Science Association from H G Wells in 1909 to the current President.

1909-1910Mr H G Wells
1910-1911Sir Thomas Holland K.C.S.I., K.C.I.E., F.R.S.
1911-1912Sir Alexander Pedler C.I.E., F.R.S.
1912-1913Sir William Crookes O.M., F.R.S.
1913-1914Dr A E H Hutton F.R.S.
1914-1919Professor H E Armstrong F.R.S.
1919-1922Sir Richard Gregory Bart., F.R.S.
1922-1924Professor L Bairstow C.B.E., F.R.S.
1924-1926Sir Herbert Wright
1926-1928Professor J W Hinchley
1928-1930Mr J Whitehead K.C.
1930-1932Sir Gilbert Morgan O.B.E., F.R.S.
1932-1934Professor J C Philip O.B.E., F.R.S.
1934-1936Professor W W Watts F.R.S.
1936-1938Instructor Rear-Admiral Sir Arthur E Hall K.B.E., C.B.
1938-1946Lt-Colonel P C Bull D.S.O.
1946-1948Dr H J T Ellingham O.B.E.
1948-1950Mr J F Ronca O.B.E.
1950-1952Assistant Professor H R Hewer
1952-1954Mr F P Dunn
1954-1956Professor H V A Briscoe
1956-1958Dr E H T Hoblyn M.B.E.
1958-1960Dr L A Jordon C.B.E.
1960-1962Mr A A Eldridge
1962-1964Mr M Bogod
1964-1966Professor D M Newitt M.C., F.R.S.
1966-1969Mr A P Buchanan
1969-1972Dr R W B Stephens
1972-1975Dr J D Kendall
1975-1977Mr W L Hewlett
1977-1979Professor W K Hayman F.R.S.
1979-1981Dr A C C Newman
1981-1983Dr B Atkinson
1983-1985Mr P Coaker
1985-1987Dr L L Katan
1987-1989Professor J F Levy
1989-1991Mr B F Middleton
1991-1993Mr M D C Campbell
1993-1996Mrs C Nuttall
1996-1998Mr K Arundale
1998-2002Dr MC Black
2002-2007Dr D L James
2007-2012Mr J Sanderson
2012-2017Mr R J Park M.R.I.
2017-2022Mr M S Dulloo
2022-Mr M J Munroe

The RCSA Prize

A prestigious prize originating in 1997 and awarded annually at Commemoration Day to a student “who has excelled academically and made a great all-round contribution to the College“.

2024to be confirmed
2023Bilgesu Aydin
Vanessa Madu
2019-2022not awarded
2018Emma McCracken
2015-2017not awarded
2014Paul Beaumont
Jonathan McNaught
2013Francesca Louise Boughey
2012Luke Kanczes
2011Ying Wo Sammy Ho
2010Gilead David Amit
2009Andrew Bromfield
2008Daniel Burrows
2007Florencia Amalia Tettamanti
2006Jad Marrouche
2005Martin Owain Archer
2004Paul Kirk
2003Hsin Ting Jessica Chan
Emma Louise Williams
2002Rosanna Eurim Jon
2001Claire Anne Smith
2000Anthony Flemming
Catherine Pinch
1999C M J Balding
1998Abigail Kirk
1997Mary Janet Cole